De-mystifying the chakras: the basics

Unlike many modern health fixations and faux-instant fixes, the Chakra system has its roots in Tantra (the spiritual practice closely aligned with Ayurveda) which can be observed in ancient Indian scriptures dating back to 1500BC. When a practice has been developed and entrusted by people for centuries to provide them with good health, we’d be remiss to pass up the depth of understanding of the human condition that it offers.

The Chakras explained

The body is made up of 7 main energy centres located along your spine, with each considered to be a spinning ‘wheel’ of energy for your life force to flow through. A blocked chakra can have detrimental effects on your physical and mental wellbeing and must be re-opened for balance to be restored. 

Base | Muladhara

Located at the spine’s base, this chakra is the root of the chakra system and governs your inner peace and security. If this chakra shuts down, you may question your stability in all aspects of your life, such as your relationships, career, and finances. 

Sacral | Swadhisthana

The sacral chakra is the home of your creativity, passion and sensuality and is found within the pelvic area. When blocked, you may feel plagued by self-doubt surrounding your physicality or a lack of control over your emotional self.

Solar | Manipura

The solar plexus chakra is found in the abdomen and informs your self-confidence and self-worth. The power of who you are and how you see yourself stems from this sacred centre. 

Heart | Anahata

The heart chakra speaks to your ability to love, be loved, and live your life with compassion. Should this energy wheel come out of alignment, feelings of isolation and an inability to connect with others may follow. 

Throat | Vishuddha

The throat chakra influences the ease at which you communicate and speak your truth freely, whilst also listening earnestly to others. A tendency to overspeak or continuously withhold your thoughts warrants a need to realign this chakra. 

Third Eye | Ajna

If you often overthink, catastrophise or struggle to tap into your intuition, this may be due to an unbalanced third eye. Located in the forehead, this chakra fuels your wisdom, imagination and awareness. 

Crown | Sahasrara

The crown chakra is the final chakra in the system and informs your intelligence and connection with spirituality. Narrow-mindedness and a tendency to play the victim are the risks of letting an unbalanced crown chakra go unchecked. 

 The chakra teachings can deeply enrich your ability for self-connection and exploration. And, what’s more, they prove that you already hold all the power within yourself to unlock your true potential, which profoundly aligns with our mission at Kindred Rituals as a self-care sanctuary. We have created a range of chakra pure essential oils specifically designed to stimulate each of the energy centres. To further support you in your practice, accompanying each oil is a unique mantra card to guide you as you focus on purifying each chakra. 

Enter ‘chakra’ into the search bar to browse our products. 

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published

"The crystal combing ritual is truly incredible. I am a busy mum of 3 and rarely have time to give my body the nourishment and selfcare that i need. Being able to perform this ritual on myself in my own home in under 5 minutes is just what i need - Thank you Kindred".

Emilia Dunn